Thousands of courses for $10 728x90

الأربعاء، 25 مايو 2016

Best Refinance Mortgage Companies of 2016

Refinancing has big benefits — you can lower your monthly payments, score a better interest rate, or even leverage your home for some cash to pay off other expenses — but only if you do it right. Doing it wrong isn’t dire; the worst-case scenario is spending money on the process only to realize you aren’t really saving that much on your mortgage. That’s not the end of the world, but also not the point.

The best refinance mortgage companies, like my favorite, Quicken Loans, don’t just have good rates; they also have stellar customer service that’ll help you get it right. In 2013, PricewaterhouseCoopers published a report that found fees and terms only account for 10 percent of a positive memorable lending experience, while nearly 50 percent is driven by the loan officer. Trading in a lender that has your back for a few extra bucks won’t feel like such a good deal when you need help or have questions — and considering you’ll be working together for upward of 30 years, there are bound to be questions.

The Simple Dollar’s Picks for Best Refinance Mortgage Companies

If you already have a mortgage, your current lender will definitely be able to help you refinance, but it pays to shop around — for better rates and for better service. This is especially true if you’re unsatisfied with your current mortgage company (which is more than likely — according to the PwC report, people are even more frustrated with the financial services industry than they are with airlines).

In my search for the best refinance mortgage lenders, I looked for companies with tons of experience and an effortless process, and then I considered the bottom dollar. Granted, just like when you got your first mortgage, refinancing is personal: Your rates, terms, and closing costs will vary depending on your credit score, how much equity you have in your home, and what your home is currently worth. That said, my three top picks are a good place to start your search.

I looked for five things in each lender.

Availability. Your neighborhood mortgage company might have rock-bottom rates and loan officers you want to keep as friends, but I set my sights on refinance mortgage companies that operate in at least 35 states, just to make sure most of you would be able to work with my top picks. If nothing else, these nationwide guys will act as good comparisons if you prefer going local.

Red flags. Any lender can have the occasional paperwork screwup, especially if it’s a national operation with dozens of offices and hundreds of loan officers. But repeat issues are a fat red flag that something bigger could be going on: illegal quota incentives, for example, or unlicensed loan officers. I perused the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System, the official system of record for mortgage companies, and cut any lender with multiple complaints.

A good track record. I looked for lenders that work primarily in refinancing, and then at their loan origination rate. It isn’t an exact science, but lenders that originate (meaning they complete) more loans than they deny have a better chance of getting yours turned around quickly and without a hassle. It’s true that less-than-reputable lenders will have a great origination rate (come one! come all!), but when you’re refinancing, you’ve already qualified for the mortgage the first time, so it’s less of a concern here.

A smooth experience. Like I said, you’re going to be working with this lender for decades — you shouldn’t have to dread getting in touch. I ranked the quality of each lender’s website (how helpful was its help center, how lively was its live chat) and tested how well the loan officers answered my questions. I even got pre-approved online (12 times!) to make sure the whole process was fast, easy, and not intimidating.

Reasonable rates and fees. I used a standardized quote to evaluate each lender’s current interest rates, points, fees, closing costs, and estimated monthly payments. Obviously the rates and fees you’ll be quoted will be different, but this was a good way to get an idea of how different lenders stack up. The average interest rate I got was 3.875 percent, with an average closing cost of $5,422 — anything higher didn’t make it into my top picks.

Quicken Loans

Quicken Loans lives up to the first half of its name — it keeps everything clipping along with a slick website full of useful tools, from mortgage calculators to an in-depth knowledge center. When it came to the application process, Quicken Loans blew its competition away: features like Rocket Mortgage, which walks you through the entire refinancing process, and MyQL, an app that tracks the status of your application from start to finish, make it possible for the refinancing to be done entirely online — no calling in, no meeting up, no scrambling for pay stubs. That you-take-the-reins approach is especially cool if it isn’t your first time refinancing, and you just want to get it done.

Screenshot of Quicken Loans homepage

Two of Quicken Loans’ biggest features — Rocket Mortgage and MyQL — are front and center on its home page.

Looking for a little more TLC from your mortgage company? No worries — Quicken Loans’ agents are quick and accommodating. My calls to customer service had wait times of less than five minutes even during peak hours and a helpful loan officer answered every question I had. When I asked how to calculate my break-even costs, she broke down the math. And when I asked what went into the closing costs, she explained it better than any other lender I contacted.

Honestly, I wasn’t surprised. When it comes to refinancing, Quicken Loans is right up there with the big banks. According to Credio, it has originated a whopping 376,200 loans — fewer than Wells Fargo’s 829,900, but right on par with Chase Bank. More notable, though, is the percentage of loans it originates out of how many apply — at about 75 percent, it’s nearly double both Wells Fargo and Chase.

New American Funding

New American lacks the polish of Quicken Loans. Its main page — which shouts, “We close faster!” and has a lot of fine print — felt borderline scammy and would normally be enough to scare me away. But as soon as I started poking around, I realized it offered a lot of straightforward information, and the sales hype quieted down.

Screenshot of New American Funding website

While the amount of up-front fine print initially gave us pause, we warmed to New American Funding once we dug in.

The company has a knowledge center that homes in on refinancing, walking you through the process, the different programs, and how to get started. The pre-approval form was easy: I applied in less than 15 minutes and received a response in less than an hour that laid out the next steps. Calling in was also quick: no hold times, no phone trees, no transfers to different departments.

New American doesn’t have that immediate name recognition (it’s no mega-bank) and it doesn’t have the big origination numbers that Quicken Loans can boast: only 12,900, according to Credio. That said, its numbers are certainly respectable, and it originates more than half of the loan applications it receives — again more than Wells Fargo and Chase.

First Internet Bank

I was really impressed by First Internet Bank from start to finish. Its step-by-step guide to completing a refinance made the whole process seem manageable. When I needed help, I could open up a quick online chat with a loan officer, or call in and get connected right away. And its response time was lightning fast: when I applied for pre-approval, First Internet had a reply in my inbox as fast as I could refresh.

Screenshot of First Internet Bank website

First Internet Bank’s easy-to-follow guide should make refinancing a bit less intimidating.

That said, First Internet Bank is way smaller than my other top picks, only originating 2,500 loans (just under half of its total applications). Comparing its origination numbers with bigger players is like comparing the Wabash College football team with USC. But! First Internet’s excellent customer service and fair rates definitely keep it in the running for me.

Refinancing is a lot like getting your first mortgage, with one notable exception: equity.

To get approved for a refinance, you usually need at least 20 percent equity, as well as a “loan-to-value ratio” less than 80 percent. That LTV is how refinance mortgage companies assess your risk; it’s the ratio between what your home is currently worth and how much you currently owe on your mortgage. Say, for example, your home is worth $275,000 and you owe $200,000 — your LTV is 72.73 percent. (Fannie Mae also has a calculator you can use to figure it all out.) The lower your LTV, the better your rates will be.

Figuring out how much equity you have in your home can be tricky. The number is based on the current value of your home, your current mortgage, and how much you’ve paid off. You can pay an appraiser to value your home, but it isn’t recommended — most lenders won’t accept a third-party appraisal and you’ll be stuck paying for two if you choose to go ahead with the refinance application.

Instead, talk to a mortgage lender who can give you an idea of how much equity you have. You can start with your current lender if you’re more comfortable talking shop with someone you know, but most mortgage lenders will be happy to look at your equity for you and provide an estimate, which may be enough to decide if you want to keep going or not. But keep in mind: It is only an estimate. If you do decide to refinance, the lender will order an official appraisal to determine exactly how much equity you have.

Refinancing won’t pay off immediately.

First you’ll have to pay closing costs and fees that could stretch into the thousands. In order to make that money back and start reaping the benefits of refinance, you’ll have to stay in your home for several months — or even years.

Say I had taken out a $350,000, 30-year loan at a 4.75 percent interest rate, paid it down to a $320,244 loan balance, and was looking to refinance. First Internet Bank might offer me a rate of 3.26 percent to refinance my loan, with $4,825 in closing costs. Taking the deal would save me $366 a month — but it would take 11 months before I hit the break-even point.

Having trouble estimating your break-even point? Our top picks (and most mortgage refinance companies) offer calculators on their websites that walk you through the process so you can skip all the math.

You may be able to negotiate your closing costs and reach your break-even point faster, but not by much. One way to save a bit is to ask your lender for an automated appraisal (where the lender will evaluate your home based on data), so you can skip hiring someone to physically inspect the property. It won’t give you a huge boost, but every little bit counts.

You may also get the option of a “no closing cost refinance,” but be wary. While you won’t pay any closing costs up front, nothing comes for free. Instead, the lender will bundle those closing costs into your refinance, say by charging a slightly higher interest rate. You’ll save some now, but you’ll end up paying more over time.

Your best bet is to plan on living in your home for a few years to at least pass your break-even point and build up savings from the refinance.

When it comes to costs, timing really is everything.

It is (obviously) best to refinance when you can get the lowest rate, but timing the market can be tricky. Rates can fluctuate day by day, but staying ahead of trends will help you get the best deal.

Case in point: Late last year, the Federal Reserve voted to increase the interest rate. And while it’s the mortgage companies and the market that determine the current mortgage rates (not the Fed), most experts agree this historic increase will make rates go up.

When? No one really knows. Some say the increase could start having a small effect later this year, while others say it could take a year or more to see any noticeable changes. Either way, if you’ve built up equity, plan to stay put for a while, and if you think you can get a much lower rate by refinancing, do it now before rates hike.

You can use your current mortgage lender to refinance — but you don’t have to.

Maybe you’re loyal to your current mortgage company. Maybe it’s sent a few refinancing offers in the mail and makes it seem so easy. Should you stick around?

If you love your lender, sure. But one thing to check is whether your current mortgage servicer is still the same lender you originally got your mortgage from. In today’s market, most mortgages are sold to other lenders multiple times. If your loan was recently sliced, diced, and handed off to someone new, it’s worth checking out its level of service. Don’t like what you see? It’s time to find a new lender.

Second, do a deep dive into the rates to see if you can score a better deal. If you comparison shop and pre-apply with a bunch of lenders in the same 30-day period, you won’t get a big ding on your credit score (all those separate queries will be counted as one). If you find a new lender you love, it will pay off your outstanding loan and deliver you that new — and better — set of terms.

Ready to Refinance?

Since you’re already an experienced mortgage-holder, refinancing will feel like a familiar process. The lender will pull your credit and you’ll have to prove your income and finances, but there are some different steps to familiarize yourself with too.

Some new paperwork. When you first applied for your mortgage, your lender was focused mostly on your finances, but now it’ll be focused on your equity too. Plan to provide some new documentation, including a copy of your homeowners insurance (make sure it is current), proof of assets, and proof of income.

The big appraisal. Your lender will order a title search to make sure you actually own the property and don’t have any secret liens. Then, it’ll order an appraisal and you’ll find out what your home is currently worth — and how much equity you’ve built up. This is a huge step!

Hurry up and wait for the final underwriting. If your appraisal determines you have enough equity to complete the refinance, the last stages of underwriting will begin. There won’t be much for you to do at this point, but plan on sending over some last-minute documents.

Head into closing. This won’t be as tedious as closing on your house the first time around, but there will be some paperwork to read and a few documents to sign. Some lenders, like my top pick, Quicken Loans, will let you refinance entirely online now, but some other lenders still require notarized documents sent through the mail. Boring? Yep! But it’ll be over soon and you’ll be on your way to a lower monthly payment.

The post Best Refinance Mortgage Companies of 2016 appeared first on The Simple Dollar.



Source The Simple Dollar The Simple Dollar http://ift.tt/20DeLpN

This Program Helps Stay-at-Home Parents Go Back to Work… and Pays $25/Hour

For seven years, John Bortscheller embraced his new “dad career.”

Bortscheller, 45, left his job as a corporate account manager to take care of his two sons, who are now 6 and 8 years old.

When his youngest son started full-day kindergarten in the fall of 2015, he began to seriously consider returning to work.

But how?

Though he’d worked some part-time jobs and volunteered, his seven-year career hiatus felt like a huge hole in his resume.

An Internship Program for Adults

Bortscheller discovered a new program for people just like him: moms and dads who took time off from the working world to take care of their children.

After a five-month paid internship, Bortscheller was hired on full time at ReadyTalk, an audio and web conferencing technology company in Denver.

ReadyTalk offered the internship with help from Path Forward, a nonprofit organization that partners with companies to create mid-career internship programs to ease the transition back to work for stay-at-home moms and dads.

“If you perform well, this innovative program just helped you overcome a career gap that may have seemed insurmountable — and it sure felt that way to me at times,” Bortscheller said.

“If you don’t perform as well as needed, this program still helps you to begin to overcome the career gap by polishing up your career and interviewing skills, expanding your professional network, introducing you to other partner firms in the program and overall boosting your confidence.”

The idea for a back-to-work internship program was born two years ago at Return Path, a data-solutions company with 12 offices around the world and more than 500 employees.

After several successful cohorts, and buy-in from other companies like PayPal, SendGrid, ReadyTalk, Moz and MWH, the program’s founders decided to spin it off into a nonprofit.

How an Internship Through Path Forward Works

Path Forward gives companies the tools to set up their own, in-house internship programs for moms and dads, and supports participants to make their experiences successful. So far, the program is underway in New York, California and Colorado.

The organization helps companies draft language to post on their own job websites. Candidates apply and go through a standard interview process, like they would with any job.

Each internship lasts 20 weeks, though companies can decide if they want interns to work full time, part time or a mix.

Participating companies generally pay between $20 and $25 an hour, with the expectation they will offer a competitive salary if an intern is hired on full time.

Overcoming the Challenges of Returning to Work

Tami Forman, executive director for Path Forward, said stay-at-home moms and dads face an uphill battle when they decide to return to the workforce.

For starters, they have a years-long gap on their resume, which can make hiring managers weary.

Some may have been in jobs that no longer exist, or they may want to try out a new career but they don’t have any experience, Forman said.

There’s also a stigma around taking time off from a burgeoning career for child care.

“We do still have a mindset as a society that your career is meant to be a death march from college graduation to retirement and I don’t know why,” Forman said.

“There’s plenty of evidence to suggest that’s not the most interesting way to build a career or even the most successful way to build a career. It’s a hard thing to get over.”

Forman said she can sympathize with hiring managers who may be hesitant to take a chance on someone who’s been out of the workforce for a while.

That’s why the internship works — it’s a small commitment, both for the company and for the employee.

“It de-risks that scenario,” she said. “It allows the company and the hiring manager to say ‘Let’s give this person a chance.’”

It also gives moms and dads a chance to experiment with jumping back into the working world and, potentially, with a new career path.

Several of the program’s participants realized at the end of the internship program that going back to work wasn’t the right fit for their family, and Forman says that’s OK, too.

“The benefit to the participant is they get an opportunity to see how coming back to work feels for them,” Forman said.

Another bonus is that companies have a pool of “professionally mature” employees to choose from. Stay-at-home moms and dads are patient, they have good time-management skills and, Forman joked, they are expert negotiators.

“Anyone who has talked a toddler off a ledge of ‘I want this now,’ …  that’s kidnapper-level negotiation skills,” she said, laughing.

Is a Return-to-Work Internship Right for You?

The organization also tries to create a feeling of camaraderie among program participants who are working in the same geographical region.

For former stay-at-home dad Bortscheller, that networking was invaluable.

The program also introduced me to other interns of similar backgrounds and their sponsor companies – cool, progressive organizations that I may not have stood a chance at gaining even a phone interview, given my long career gap,” he said.

For Jenni Lillie, who took time off to raise her now-11-year-old daughter and 9-year-old son, the internship was a confidence-booster.

After completing the program at Return Path, Lillie, 42, accepted a full-time role as a brand designer. The outcome was a win for everybody in her family.

“I learned that I wasn’t as behind in my technical skills as I thought I was,” Lillie said.

“My kids have gained a little more independence as a result of me going back to work and not being at home as much. Working with a creative team again has been really fun and fulfilling.”

Your Turn: Have you completed a return-to-work program? Would you try this type of internship?

Sarah Kuta is an education reporter in Boulder, Colorado, with a penchant for weekend thrifting, furniture refurbishment and good deals. Find her on Twitter: @sarahkuta.

The post This Program Helps Stay-at-Home Parents Go Back to Work… and Pays $25/Hour appeared first on The Penny Hoarder.



source The Penny Hoarder http://ift.tt/22pi7hF

Want to Work From Home? U-Haul is Hiring Part-Time Reps Across the Country

Some good news for those of you who want to work from home

Thanks to one of our readers, we found out U-Haul is hiring part-time, work-from-home customer service representatives all across the country. (Thanks for the tip, Tasha!)

Even better, you don’t need a college degree OR experience to snag one.

Here’s what you need to know.

These U-Haul Jobs Let You Work From Home

U-Haul lists three work-from-home positions on its site.

They’re categorized as “moonlighter jobs” with flexible hours, which U-Haul says are ideal for people with other work or familial responsibilities.

For each, you’ll need to have a headset, high-speed internet and a computer with Windows XP or 7. Training is paid and lasts four weeks.

We reached out to U-Haul for further details about the jobs, and will update the post if and when we hear back.

1. E-Storage Sales Representative

In this position, you’ll answer questions about and take reservations for storage units.

You must be at least 16 years old, and be in school or have a high school diploma or GED.

You also must enjoy working with people and have basic computer, communications and U.S. geography skills.

2. E-Customer Service Agent

This role requires you to answer calls and questions from U-Haul customers around the country.

You must be available at least 32 hours per week, but you’re not guaranteed to work that many. At least six months of customer service experience is preferred, as well as open availability.

“The competition for this role is fierce,” U-Haul says. “100% commitment during training is required.”

3. Center Sales – Reservation Agents

As a reservation agent, you’ll “answer general product/rental inquiries and secure and/or schedule reservations” for U-Haul centers across the country.

You must be at least 16 years old, and be in school or have a high school diploma or GED.

Hours “vary during slow and busy seasons,” and the position pays $8.25 per hour, plus bonuses.

Like the previous role, U-Haul notes competition for this role is “fierce.”

Well worth it, though, if you end up getting to work in your jammies!

Your Turn: Will you apply for one of these WFH positions? Let us know if you land one!

Susan Shain, senior writer for The Penny Hoarder, is always seeking adventure on a budget. Visit her blog at susanshain.com, or say hi on Twitter @susan_shain.

The post Want to Work From Home? U-Haul is Hiring Part-Time Reps Across the Country appeared first on The Penny Hoarder.



source The Penny Hoarder http://ift.tt/25hskhX

Holy WHAT? This Company Pays Its Employees $7,500 to Go on Vacation

Ladies and gentlemen, if you’ve been looking for the coolest company around, your search is now over.

Forget Google and Facebook — who wants to live in Silicon Valley anyway?

Say hello to FullContact, a software company with offices in two beautiful cities: Denver, Colorado and Riga, Latvia.

Besides its killer locations, it also has some insane perks.

Warning: After reading this, you’ll never look at your company’s benefits the same way again…

Why FullContact Might Be the Coolest Company Ever

FullContact is a “fully-connected contact management platform for professionals and enterprises who need to master their contacts,” according to its LinkedIn profile.

It says it helps customers “be awesome with people” — and apparently practices what it preaches by offering employees some spectacular perks.

Here are three of my favorites:

1. Go on Paid, PAID Vacation

Like several other tech startups, FullContact has an unlimited vacation policy.

But unlike others, it has a minimum vacation policy: You must take at least three weeks off each year.

And once a year, you’ll get $7,500 to cover the costs of a vacation. (That’s in addition to your regular salary.)

It calls this policy “Paid, PAID Vacation,” and the only catch is “you MUST be off the grid, no emails, no calling work, ABSOLUTELY NO WORK.”

Ummm, what? This might be the most amazing thing I’ve ever heard.

Why such a generous policy?

“I get more productive, happier employees,” CEO Bart Lorang told CBS Denver.

“I’d rather they be super productive and charged up when they are working then [sic] constantly at a 70-percent state.”

2. Work Remotely for One Month a Year

Want to work lakeside? Or from another country?

After one year of employment, FullContact gives you free rein to work remotely for one month each year.

If you head to its Latvia office, it’ll even pay travel and lodging expenses!

3. Hit the Slopes on Powder Days

As a powderhound — and former Colorado ski bum — this policy made my jaw drop. If it’s dumping snow outside, you can skip work.

You can’t “screw your team over,” and you have to “make up the day within 14 days.”

But bottom line: You won’t have to miss powder days like the rest of Denver’s 9-5ers. Go hit the slopes.

Omg. That’s it… This really is the coolest company ever. I’m almost tempted to hit up a coding bootcamp and start working on my skills!

If you’d like to see what positions FullContact has available, visit its career page.

Your Turn: What do you think of this company’s perks?

Susan Shain, senior writer for The Penny Hoarder, is always seeking adventure on a budget. Visit her blog at susanshain.com, or say hi on Twitter @susan_shain.

The post Holy WHAT? This Company Pays Its Employees $7,500 to Go on Vacation appeared first on The Penny Hoarder.



source The Penny Hoarder http://ift.tt/1qJskI3

Can You Save Money by Buying Men’s Hygiene Products Instead of Women’s?

Anyone who’s shopped the health and beauty aisles at a supermarket or drugstore knows grooming products are nearly always separated by gender.

Pink, white and green bottles sit next to black and navy bottles, subtly nudging shoppers toward products “for women” or “for men.” Some brands even write “for men” directly on the black and navy bottles, just in case it isn’t clear.

But are these products really all that different? More importantly, are these products priced differently?

Could we all save money if we bought men’s deodorant instead of women’s, or shampooed with something out of a navy bottle?

I decided to find out — and what I learned was very surprising.

Test 1: Walgreens

My first product comparison test was at Walgreens.

I was expecting to see men’s products priced significantly lower than women’s products, but I found several brands sold both their men’s and women’s products at identical prices.

Dove was the major exception, but even within its products, the men’s versions were not always priced lower than the women’s versions. Sometimes, the men’s versions were even priced higher.

Here’s what I saw at Walgreens:

Body Wash

Dove Deep Moisture and Dove Purely Pampering were both 30 cents per ounce, while Dove Men + Care was 40.7 cents per ounce.

Nivea Creme Moisture and Nivea For Men were both 33.4 cents per ounce.

Suave Body Wash and Suave For Men were both 16.7 cents per ounce.

Deodorant

Dove Go Fresh was $2.11 per ounce and Dove Advanced Care was $2.61 per ounce. Dove Men + Care was $2.14 per ounce.

Lady Mitchum and Mitchum deodorants all ran at $4.49 each, for both 2.7- and 2.25-ounce containers.

Shampoo

Dove Nutritive Solutions was 45.8 cents per ounce and Dove Advanced Hair Series was 48.3 cents per ounce, but Dove Men + Care was only 41.6 cents per ounce.

Suave Professionals and Suave Professionals for Men were both 15.3 cents per ounce.

Suave Essentials, which had no “for men” equivalent, was only 9.1 cents per ounce.

Razors

Bic Silky Touch razors and Bic Twin Select razors were both 48.9 cents per razor.

Test 2: Safeway

To make sure my Walgreens experience wasn’t a fluke, I decided to compare men’s and women’s hygiene products at my local Safeway.

As with Walgreens, many brands sold their men’s and women’s products at identical prices.

Even when brands sold equivalent men’s and women’s products at different prices, the men’s products were not always priced lower than the women’s products.

I’ve listed Safeway prices below. The company uses a variety of per-unit measurements, but I’ve done the math to get the per-ounce prices.

Body Wash

Dove Deep Moisture was 34 cents per fluid ounce, and Dove Men + Care was 33 cents per fluid ounce.

Nivea Creme Moisture and Nivea Men Active 3 were both 36 cents per fluid ounce.

Deodorant

Dove Advanced Care was $2.70 per ounce, but Dove Men + Care was $1.78 per ounce.

Degree Dry Protection Twin Pack was $1.15 per ounce, but Degree Men Dry Protection Twin Pack was $1.11 per ounce.

Lady Mitchum and Mitchum were both $2.14 per ounce.

Shampoo

Dove Advanced Hair Series and Dove Men + Care were both 42 cents per ounce.

Suave Professionals and Suave Professionals for Men were both 17 cents per fluid ounce for 28 fluid ounces, and 18 cents per fluid ounce for 12.6 fluid ounces.

Razors

Schick Quattro razors were $11.29 per razor, but Schick Quattro Titanium (the “for men” equivalent) were $13.99 per razor.

Signature Care Twin Blade razors (in pink!) and Signature Care Twin Blade Plus razors (in blue!) were both 24.92 cents per razor.

Which Hygiene Products are Cheaper?

What did I learn from this experiment?

Although men’s and women’s hygiene products are sometimes priced differently, you can’t assume products “for men” are less expensive than products “for women.”

I discovered in many cases, men’s and women’s hygiene products are sold for the same prices.

If you want to save money, you can’t hack your way to dramatically lower costs by grabbing a blue bottle instead of a pink one.

Instead, you need to read the fine print and look for the product with the lowest per-unit cost. It has much more to do with the individual brand than the gender to which the product is marketed.

Sometimes you can save a few cents per ounce buying the “for men” version, but you can’t make the decision until you look carefully at both products and compare the price by unit.

But that’s what good Penny Hoarders should be doing anyway — it’s the only way you’ll know whether you’re getting the best deal.

Your Turn: Have you tried saving money by purchasing men’s hygiene products instead of women’s? Does your favorite brand sell men’s products at a lower cost, or does the brand offer identical prices?

Nicole Dieker is a contributor at The Penny Hoarder, freelance copywriter and essayist. She writes regularly for The Billfold on the intersection of freelance writing and personal finance, and her work has also appeared in The Toast, Yearbook Office and Boing Boing.

The post Can You Save Money by Buying Men’s Hygiene Products Instead of Women’s? appeared first on The Penny Hoarder.



source The Penny Hoarder http://ift.tt/1UduPwI

Find Your Readers: 6 Marketing Channels (and which ones to pick)

Creating great content is pointless…

…unless you’re getting it in front of your target audience.

You do this by using any one of a number of promotional tactics to reach your target audience on a variety of platforms.

Most of these platforms can be grouped together, and that’s where we get marketing channels. A promotional tactic can then be applied to most of the platforms in the channel.

For example, social media is a marketing channel, consisting of platforms such as Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, etc.

Depending on whom you ask, you’ll get different answers to the question of how many marketing channels there really are.

The number gets even more complicated if you consider that there are many offline marketing channels as well.

However, for most of us, the number of channels doesn’t matter.

What does matter is that there is a handful of core channels that are by far the most effective digital marketing channels.

That’s what this post is all about.

We’ll go over the six main digital marketing channels you should at least be familiar with. On top of that, I’m going to show you how to evaluate each channel to determine whether it’s worth your time.

The real power of studying channels: If you want to learn this stuff because you love marketing, that’s great. But there’s also a great practical reason for you to want to learn it.

Once you learn how to identify the best marketing channels for your business, you can study them and create content for those specific channels (and sites in them).

By targeting content towards a specific audience, you’re much more likely to create something they’ll love and want to read. 

Channel #1: Search engines (SEO) is the best place to start

There are very few websites that wouldn’t benefit from search engine traffic.

No matter what industry you’re in, some of your target customers are using search engines to search for something.

That doesn’t mean you should necessarily spend all your time on SEO. It’s not always the best channel, but it’s one that you must research.

What you should be looking to do at this point is just some basic keyword research. Afterwards, you can do some more advanced keyword research with these resources:

Here, we just want to see the general number of searches your target audience does every month.

For that, the Google Keyword Planner will work just fine.

Start by entering some broad niche keywords. For example, “content marketing” or “social media marketing” if you were starting a blog like Quick Sprout.

image07

Look through the list that comes up, and see how many keywords have a significant search volume (at least a few hundred per month).

While you’re missing out on a lot of keywords using this simplistic method, you want to see at least 50 keywords worth targeting.

If you don’t know where to start when it comes to searching for keywords, find a close competitor in your niche.

Then, enter their URL in the website field of the keyword planner instead of typing in keywords.

If they have a WordPress blog, you can typically add “/feed” to the end of their blog URL to get a more complete set of keywords.

For example, instead of entering:

http://ift.tt/1s90Bee

enter:

http://ift.tt/1TyHttf

That will give you a set of really broad keywords, and you can enter any of those into the tool to get a list to analyze.

image05

Channel #2: If you want readers fast, PPC (pay-per-click advertising) is the way

When you identify a marketing channel, you first want to make sure you can actually reach your readers through it.

After, you need to decide if it’s ideal for your business. All channels have their strengths and weaknesses.

SEO, for example, can provide you with steady, high-quality free traffic. The downside is that it is hard to earn that traffic, can take a long time to get, and requires an upfront investment.

PPC, on the other hand, allows you to drive the same type of traffic (if you’re using AdWords) from day one of publishing content. There are also many more platforms you can use other than search such as Facebook advertising, LinkedIn advertising, or even a small network like 7search.

The downside is that it’s expensive, and if you don’t have a solid conversion funnel in place, you’ll end up wasting that traffic and losing money.

When can you use paid advertising? Another benefit of PPC is that you can use it for virtually any niche.

If there’s search traffic, you can advertise on Google or Bing.

If it’s most popular on social media, you can advertise there.

If you have a significant content promotion budget (on an ongoing basis), PPC is an option at your disposal.

However, if you don’t already have a solid sales funnel, be prepared to lose money.

image03

Your time should mostly be spent optimizing ads and conversion rates of your content (readers into email subscribers). From there, you’ll need to determine the best way to sell to those subscribers.

Channel #3: You don’t always have to compete with other blogs

If you’re starting a blog, I sure hope there are at least a few other, remotely similar to yours, popular blogs that already exist.

If not, there probably aren’t many potential customers reading blogs in that niche, and you’re wasting your time. The one exception is if you’re writing about a very new topic that has just started growing.

These blogs are usually seen as competition, but they don’t have to be.

A reader is not an all-or-nothing asset. A reader can follow multiple blogs.

If you give blog owners an incentive, you may be able to get them to allow you to get your message in front of their readers.

How?

The main ways are:

  • Guest-posting – I guest-post on a regular basis and have written multiple guides to using it effectively. Here, the incentive is free content for the site owner. Of course, you need to make sure that your content is good enough to be worth it. Not all blogs allow guest posts, but many do.
  • Joint content – For all my advanced guides (in the sidebar), I’ve gotten help from respected bloggers in each niche. They get publicity, and I get help with my content.

image04

  • Sponsored posts – You can contact a blogger and offer to sponsor a post. These typically involve a few mentions naturally throughout a post.
  • Joint ventures – You can even get involved with a product a blogger sells and help improve it. Their customers will see you in a very good light, and many will follow you because of it.

For now, you want to find as many of those blogs as you can.

It’s pretty easy these days. Start by Googling a phrase like “top (niche) blogs.”

image09

You’ll probably find at least a few results, featuring long lists of blogs in your niche.

Write these down somewhere.

You can also head to Alltop, find your niche in the menu bar, and then write down the blogs that come up:

image08

Traffic is king: There’s no point in doing a guest post on a site with very little traffic. Even if your post is great, you’ll only get a few readers from it.

Your next step is to estimate the traffic levels of each site you wrote down.

Visit each site, and look for:

  • Average number of comments on each post
  • Average number of social shares
  • How well designed the site is
  • Whether the number of subscribers is listed anywhere

It’s hard to know if a site has a lot of traffic, but if it’s getting 5+ comments or 100+ social shares on each post, it has enough to consider partnering with.

Filter out all the low traffic sites. If you still have 20+ sites left to potentially work with, then these blogs are another channel you can target.

Channel #4: Can you be social?

Social media sites are usually hit or miss.

Some niches, like fitness, food, fashion, and even marketing to a degree, are highly shareable.

In order to use social media effectively, you need those extra followers and readers you get from “likes” and “shares.”

That’s why you don’t see a lot of asphalt companies or paper companies killing it on social media. It’s really hard to create shareable content in those niches.

To see whether it’s viable for your niche, you can use Buzzsumo, a tool I’ve mentioned many times before. Not only will it show you if your niche is popular on social media, but it will also tell you which social media sites to focus on.

Type your niche into the top content tool. If the results seem irrelevant, add quotation marks around your keyword:

image10

In addition to the core keywords, I recommend typing in a few related keywords for more data.

You’re looking for two things here:

  1. Is content in my niche shareable? – If there are several pieces of content with over 1,000 shares, it’s safe to say that your niche is viable on social media.
  2. Which network(s) is most popular? – You’ll likely see that one or two networks make up 90% of the shares. In the case above, Twitter is the dominant source, followed way behind by Facebook and LinkedIn in most cases.

While there may be a few fluctuations, you’ll see that there is a pattern when it comes to the most popular social networks. You’ll want to focus on the most popular ones if you choose to use social media.

Channel #5: Forums are the backbone of the Internet

Forums have been around since the start of the Internet and continue to play a big part in most users’ online lives.

While getting readers from forums doesn’t scale very well, it can be very effective when your blog is new and you need that initial audience to write for.

On top of that, it’s free—other than your time investment.

Here, you need to find out whether there are any popular forums. To do so, Google for “(niche) + forum.”

You need a minimum of one highly active forum. You want to see 100+ users a day making new posts.

Check out the first few results, and see if any meet that criterion.

image00

You can usually scroll to the bottom of a forum to see how big it is.

Turns out, there actually aren’t any good content marketing forums – bummer.

If you run into a case like this, you do have the option of expanding your scope (“marketing forums”), but it’s usually better just to move on.

Channel #6: Q&A sites

Some might group question and answer (Q&A) sites with social media sites, but I think they’re distinctive enough to warrant their own section.

The biggest Q&A sites are Quora and Yahoo Answers.

Just like forums, these don’t scale well, but they can drive a good amount of traffic to your blog (if you include links in answers).

One bonus is that your answers will rank well in Google for long tail search terms (which are usually questions), which will send you consistent traffic in the future as well.

Head to Quora, and start typing your niche into the search bar. You’re looking for a topic that is exactly the same as yours or close to it (click it):

image01

Quora provides follower statistics on each topic page on the right. If a topic has a good number of followers (say 20,000+), it’s active enough that you could focus on it as a marketing channel:

image02

As a side note, here’s my post on using Quora for marketing.

Conclusion

Now that you have a good grasp of the ways to determine whether you could use a channel for marketing, it’s decision time.

Take a look at each channel, and first decide if your audience uses it (as I’ve shown you).

Then, consider the relative popularity of each channel, your budget, and your goals, and determine the top 1-3 channels.

You don’t want to try to target too many channels at once. Instead, focus on one or two, and put all your resources into using them effectively.

If you need help doing this, I’m happy to try to point you in the right direction. Leave me a comment below with as much detail as possible, and I’ll try to help out.



Source Quick Sprout http://ift.tt/1TyH4XE

Instant Gratification Versus Lasting Fulfillment

If you ever want to feel like you’re completely wrecking your own finances, try this little tactic on for size.

At the end of the month, pull out your most recent bank statements and credit card statements and go through each of them line by line. See if you can name what purchase each one of those line items represents and what you can remember about those purchases.

Do you remember anything at all? For some purchases, you won’t even be able to hit that threshold.

Do you remember anything significantly positive about that purchase? This will cut away even more of those purchases.

Do you think that the positives you got from that purchase were worthwhile, that you couldn’t have obtained the same positives elsewhere for less money or for free? This question right here will cut out even more of those purchases.

Ideally, I want my purchases to clear all of these questions. I want to live a spontaneous life like anyone else does, but when I spend my hard-earned money, I want those purchases to be meaningful ones. Throwing money away on something I won’t even remember? Burning that money on things that didn’t have any sort of lasting positive impact on me?

That’s just a complete waste.

The truth is that this is all about the battle between instant gratification versus lasting fulfillment.

Instant gratification is a decision designed to maximize pleasure in the moment, but often that pleasure fades, and when it wasn’t all that great of a decision to begin with, that pleasure fades to nothing at all. It’s forgotten.

Lasting fulfillment, on the other hand, is a decision designed to maximize benefit over the long term. It might not be the most enjoyable option in the moment, but I won’t forget it or regret it in a month. Often, those fulfilling choices continue to provide some benefit over time.

In the moment, each one of those purchases I described earlier made sense to me on some level – if it didn’t, I wouldn’t have made the purchase, right? Yet, when I looked back on those purchases from the vantage point of a month or two, a lot of them were completely forgettable – or completely forgotten.

In my eyes, a completely forgettable purchase is usually a mistake. It’s not a mistake if it fulfills an urgent need of some kind, but outside of that, if you spent money on something and you don’t remember it a few weeks later, you likely made a spending mistake. The reason’s obvious: Having that money in the bank right now is better than that forgotten purchase from a month ago. It represents the interest earned during the time you didn’t spend it, and it also represents opportunity going forward, both of which vanish if you spend the money on something forgettable.

So, ideally, my goal is to minimize instant gratification and maximize lasting fulfillment.

Again, this goal does not mean avoiding spontaneity. It just means avoiding bad spontaneity. Being spontaneous for a truly memorable moment with someone I really care about can be a great thing. Being spontaneous to buy a completely forgettable food product? Not so much.

My litmus test for all of this is really straightforward: Do I remember it clearly in a month or when your credit card bill comes in? Does it still seem worthwhile? If a purchase passes that test, then it provided lasting fulfillment and was worthwhile. If it didn’t, then it was a mistake.

Of course, the challenge with this is that you don’t know how you’ll feel about a particular purchase a month from now. You’re considering buying something in the moment. Will it still seem worthwhile a month from now? It’s often hard to tell.

This is something I’ve worked on for years, and over those years I’ve come up with a number of strategies that really help me to have a strong sense as to whether a purchase in the moment is really just feeding my desire for instant gratification or whether it’s going to provide lasting fulfillment.

First of all, I constantly rethink purchases in order to train my mind to make better snap decisions. When I’m driving somewhere – taking my children to soccer practice or going to the grocery store or whatever – I use that time to think about the decisions I’ve made recently and decide outside of the heat of the moment whether those decisions are actually good ones.

In the heat of the moment, your mind might be telling you that a particular purchase is a good idea, but if you think about that purchase in a different situation, it might seem foolish.

Because of that, I like to rethink my purchases later on. Was it a good move? Why? If it wasn’t a good move, why did I make that mistake?

The goal here isn’t to browbeat myself and feel like a failure because I made spending mistakes. I’m not perfect. I’m not going to be perfect. The goal is not perfection. Rather, the goal is to be better today than I was yesterday. If I made a dumb spending choice yesterday, I want to be less likely to make that dumb spending choice today, and reflecting on my missteps and looking for ways to not repeat them is the surest way to be better today than I was yesterday.

Another useful strategy I like to use is something I’ve long referred to as the “ten second rule.” To put it simply, the “10-second rule” is an utterly simple method in the moment to keep me from making poor spontaneous decisions. It’s easy: Any time I am about to spend money, I stop for 10 seconds and ask myself whether or not this decision is really worth it.

I’m about to buy a burrito at this food truck. Is that decision really worth it? Do I need that burrito? Could I get a good meal cheaper elsewhere? Maybe I could just get tortilla chips and eat something when I get home.

I’m about to buy a book at the bookstore. Do I really need to own this book? Couldn’t I just get the book at the library instead? Does my friend who seems to have every fantasy novel known to mankind have this book and could I just borrow it from him?

I’m about to add something to my shopping cart at the grocery store. Do I really need that item? Is it playing a part in a meal I’m going to make this week? Could I get a less expensive store brand instead?

I can have those thoughts – and many more – in a 10-second timeframe while I’m standing there in the store, or while I have items in my shopping cart on a website. Often, those thoughts are very effective at pointing out when I’m being foolish with a spontaneous decision to buy something.

A third strategy I like to use is to intentionally over-weight lasting fulfillment in my decision making processes. In other words, if a decision between two options that represent instant gratification and lasting fulfillment presents itself and the two options seem somewhat equal, I’m going to throw extra weight on the lasting fulfillment side.

What this does is simply require me to be very confident about instant gratification when I’m giving a purchase my ten seconds of reflection that I mentioned earlier. If it’s not obviously clear that this expense won’t bring me a huge amount of instant gratification, a joyful moment that will last in some way, I won’t jump in. What I’m really looking for is lasting fulfillment, and that’s the criteria I use to make that decision.

Now, let’s take a look at lasting fulfillment. How do I have any idea that a particular purchase will bring me lasting fulfillment? In general, I don’t make a purchase intended to bring lasting fulfillment without doing a lot of homework. I want to know quite well what the item is, what I can expect it to do that I can’t already do, and whether that’s something that really fills a need in my life. That not only requires learning about the product in mind, but it also requires some reflection.

In short, I don’t spontaneously make purchases or choices intended to bring lasting fulfillment. I give those purchases some time, to make sure I really know what I’m doing.

In the end, it’s all about applying a real critical eye to my purchases. I consider purchases that just give a burst of pleasure in the moment, a burst that fades away and is forgotten before very long at all, to be akin to throwing money out the window. However, my human nature is to be attracted to those bursts of pleasure, and it takes being aware of that in order to avoid spending more than I like on instant gratification.

The rewards, however, are great. By choosing lasting fulfillment consistently, I’m building a better and better life for myself, one built on the back of many, many choices intended for lasting fulfillment, both in terms of my money and in terms of my time and energy.

Instant gratification creates a better moment. Lasting fulfillment creates a better life.

Related Articles

The post Instant Gratification Versus Lasting Fulfillment appeared first on The Simple Dollar.



Source The Simple Dollar The Simple Dollar http://ift.tt/1TWrorD

Financial Conduct Authority issues scam warning to over-55s

Using the rule of 72, which states that if you divide said number by a given interest rate you’ll see how long it takes to double your money, we see that in 2008, when the Bank of England set rates at 4.5%, it would have taken 16 years.

Using the rule of 72, which states that if you divide said number by a given interest rate you’ll see how long it takes to double your money, we see that in 2008, when the Bank of England set rates at 4.5%, it would have taken 16 years. But with the BoE rate at 0.5%, where it has been for the past 7 years, it would take you 144 years.

read more



Source Moneywise http://ift.tt/25ljV0k

This Couple Plan to Pay Off $117,000 of Debt in Just 3 Years. Here’s How

The second our wedding was over, my husband and I started saving for a down payment on our first home. We were excited about the prospect of being homeowners and couldn’t wait to move out of my parents’ basement.

However, after running the numbers, we realized buying a home at this point in our lives would be a terrible idea because of our massive student loan debt.

When we got married shortly after I finished graduate school and he finished his bachelor’s degree, we knew we both had high student loan debt. But neither of us had done a good job of tracking exactly how much debt we had accumulated.

When we realized we owed a combined total of $117,000, we felt overwhelmed and anxious about our future.

We put our plans to buy a house on the backburner, and made the decision to pay off all our debt in just three years.

Why We Decided to Pay Off Our Debt Sooner Rather Than Later

We considered multiple options.

We thought about lowering our monthly payments by extending them over 20 years. But we knew that with that option, we’d end up paying more than double what we owed. Compound interest is a nightmare!

We also thought about staying on a 10-year payoff plan. But even then, we would pay more than $30,000 in interest. Our monthly payments would remain as high as a mortgage at $1,400 per month.

With either option, we wouldn’t be able to afford savings, a retirement account or an emergency fund. If an unexpected issue came up, we would likely put it on a credit card and become trapped in an endless cycle of debt.

We needed to find a better way. So, inspired by Dave Ramsey’s debt snowball approach, we committed to paying off our loans in just three years.  

This method isn’t easy – it requires hard work and sacrifice. But it will be well worth it.

Here are the steps we’re taking to finally get out of debt.

We Made a Debt Repayment Plan

When my grace period ended after graduation and I started making my enormous monthly payments, I was miserable.

I knew I would have debt, but I had naively believed a master’s degree would be my golden ticket to a high-paying career.

I was wrong. My first job after grad school paid so little that 50% of my income went toward my student loan payments.

I spent a lot of time wallowing in regret, wishing I had made smarter financial choices. But I soon realized obsessing over my debt wasn’t productive.

What I needed to do was take action.

Combined, my husband and I pay $1,200 per month on our loans. To boost our debt payoff, we try to pay an additional $1,500 each on our own loans every month.

While we have a joint savings account, we make payments on our own debt from our personal accounts.

This isn’t always possible, but we still throw as much extra as we can toward our loans.  We’re able to do this because we side hustle and scrimp like crazy.

We Found Ways to Make More Money

I work in HR and my husband is a graphic designer. Neither of us works in particularly high-paying fields.

But after gaining a year of experience at a low-paying job, I was able to land a job with a $10,000 pay increase and much better benefits. Recently, I received my first raise.

I also started a blog and have been working on monetizing it.

My husband side hustles as well — he does freelance graphic/web design projects and works part-time as an assistant wedding photographer.

Together, our combined annual gross income is about $90,000. We have a small emergency fund of $1,000 and no other debt — we’ve put saving for retirement and other funds on hold until we’ve finished paying off our student loans.

We Practice Extreme Frugality

Increasing our income wouldn’t make a difference if we didn’t manage our money well.

We live an extremely frugal lifestyle and are currently on a three-year spending ban, which means we don’t spend money on any non-essential items.

I don’t spend any money on dinners out or other fun activities with friends. The hubby and I still get together with friends often, but we have found free things to do for fun.  

We also don’t have car payments because we both drive old cars we’ve already paid off, and we plan to keep driving these cars as long as possible.

We Live With My Parents

The biggest way we save money is by living with my parents and only paying them $150 in rent each month. I realize many people don’t have this option, and I am extremely grateful to my parents for allowing us to live with them.

That being said, living with parents at the age of 27 isn’t easy, especially with five of us (my brother also lives here) in a small, crowded house — but it’s worth it.

The easy choice would be to switch to a 25-year repayment plan on our student loans and buy our own home. It would be much more enjoyable than our current living situation… but it wouldn’t be smart.

We’re currently one year into our debt payoff journey and we have paid off about $30,000 so far. The sacrifices we’re making now will be well worth it when we finally attain financial freedom.

Your Turn: What are some ways you’ve tried to pay off debt quickly?

Jen Hayes is an HR professional and frugal lifestyle blogger. Jenn and her husband are paying off $117,000 of student loan debt in just three years. She writes about healthy eating on a budget, affordable wedding tips, destroying debt and living frugally on her blog, Frugal Millennial.

The post This Couple Plan to Pay Off $117,000 of Debt in Just 3 Years. Here’s How appeared first on The Penny Hoarder.



source The Penny Hoarder http://ift.tt/1XUqu4H

How to Earn Big by Writing for Women’s and Parenting Magazines

By Linda Formichelli You’re looking to work at home – or maybe you already do and are longing for an additional gig to fill in the financial gaps. Sure, there are tons of writing jobs that advertise through bidding sites and content mills. And those are fine – if you don’t mind earning $10 per […]

Source The Work at Home Woman http://ift.tt/1XUiq3J